A Nightmare

May 21, 2012 § Leave a comment

She looked for it everywhere. Her hands were searching high and low. Under the pillow, under the blanket, next to her bolster or maybe under the bed. She pressed the green button as soon as her phone was in her palm.

“Hello.”
“Thank god you’re still here.”
“I’m still here baby. What’s wrong?” Sophie pulled herself up to her pillow and get herself comfortable on her bed. It was 3 o’clock in the morning. It was a call from Nate.

“I thought I lost you. I’m scared.”
“Don’t say that please? I’m here.”
“I just had a nightmare sigh. Don’t ever go please?”
“You know I won’t. Come here.”

She imagined herself hugging him and he imagined himself in her arms, wrapped tightly. Sophie started to hum his favorite lullaby. Sophie pulled her blanket up to her chest and smiling all to herself. He was fast asleep. The sound of Nate’s breathing, one of her favorite sounds in the universe. I love you. 3 words from Sophie for Nate and they both slept with their phones at their ears.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Nightmare at Intradermally Cul De Sac.

meta

